CS4740 Schedule

Date Topic To read/watch before class Assignment Out Assignment Due
Tues Jan 15 Introduction      
Thurs Jan 17 Introduction      
Tues Jan 22 Introduction to Amazon Web Services (AWS)

Cloud computing

Amazon Web Services

PA#1  
Thurs Jan 24 More on PA#1    
Tues Jan 29 Cloud storage, EULAs, and SLAs

Amazon's Storage and content delivery

Amazon's Database options

   
Thurs Jan 31 Cloud app design (e.g., scalability)

Scalability

Amdahl's law

TSP

  PA#1
Tues Feb 5 PaaS/Containers/Microservices

PaaS

OS-level virtualization

Docker

PA#2  
Thurs Feb 7 PaaS/Containers/Microservices  
Tues Feb 12 Inside datacenters (Comp Arch, OS, Xen)

Datacenters

Computer Architecture

x86

Virtualization

Xen

   
Thurs Feb 14 Inside datacenters (Comp Arch, OS, Xen)   PA#2
Tues Feb 19 Serverless/lambda

Serverless

AWS Lambda (wikipedia)

AWS Lambda (AWS)

PA#3  
Thurs Feb 21 Serverless/lambda  
Tues Feb 26 DevOps DevOps  
Thurs Feb 28 Cloud security

Computer Security

Cloud security

PA#3
Tues Mar 5 Review for Midterm  
Thurs Mar 7 Midterm exam (closed books, closed notes)  
Tues Mar 12 No class -- Spring break!      
Tues Mar 14 No class -- Spring break!      
Tues Mar 19 Intro to Big Data et. al

Big Data

MapReduce

Hadoop

Spark

PA#4  
Thurs Mar 21 More Big Data et al    
Tues Mar 26 Hive & Pig

Hive

Pig

HBase

 
Thurs Mar 28 Open Source Private Cloud and Hybrid Cloud

Private Cloud

OpenStack

  PA#4
Tues Apr 2 AI, GPU computing

AI

GPU computing

PA#5  
Thurs Apr 4 ML, TensorFlow

Machine Learning

TensorFlow

 
Tues Apr 9 Intro to noSQL NoSQL
Thurs Apr 11 Cassandra, MongoDB, CouchDB

MongoDB

Cassandra

CouchDB

  PA#5
Tues Apr 16 Streaming data

Storm

AWS Kinesis

PA#6  
Thurs Apr 18 IOT / Edge

IOT

Edge computing

AWS IOT

Tues Apr 23 Blockchain

Blockchain

 
Thurs Apr 25 AR & VR,

Augmented Reality (AR)

Virtual Reality (AR)

PA#6
Tues Apr 30 Course Wrap-up!    
     
Thurs May 9 2pm -- 4pm
Final exam (closed books,closed notes)